Life issues

Meet our YAC: Rachel Guthrie

Melton
08 Apr 2019

Tell us a little about yourself, what you’re currently doing (School/Education and what you do for fun?

I am 23 years old, have a Bachelor and Graduate Diploma in Psychology, I went to school at Kurunjang Secondary College. In my spare time I love going to the gym and exercising and I play netball for Melton Bloods.

Why did you decide to join the headspace Melton YAC?

I decided to join the YAC because of my passion for Psychology, and being able to have a word and influence on the health of the youth of Melton.

What would you want to tell other young people in the community about headspace Melton?

When most people think of headspace, I would think they instantly think of mental health. However, it is so much more! Even if you’re struggling to find a job, having family/school troubles, getting bullied or really just not feeling 100% come down and have a chat to the team, they are so supportive, no problem is too small/big.

Favourite Sporting Team and why they’re the best?

Melton Bloods…. OBVIOUSLY

No, I go for Collingwood in the netball and North Melbourne in AFL.

Best Part of being involved in a group like the YAC?

I have met so many inspirational people! And also love that my opinions and suggestions are always taken into consideration to positively impact the youth of Melton.

Is there a particular area of work or project that you’d like to work on in the YAC over the year?

I’m really interested in reducing stigma around mental health, I did my thesis on stigma of mental health disorders, it is an area I’m very passionate about. I also believe that children in Schools are not provided with enough knowledge of the support available, so I want to work in schools and inform people that it’s okay to not be okay and that there are so many support networks around (such as headspace). 

What’s your favourite type of self care (Watching Netflix, gardening, working out)?

I love going to the gym, running and also watching a chick flick/ sad movie.

Fun Fact about yourself?

I grew up in a few different countries. England, Canada, New Zealand and have now been in Australia for 8 years.